A year of being the Green Impact Frontrunner

11407202_904415926268652_1839110085016166395_n

Looking back from where I am now to where I started, I am glad I decided to be a part of the Green Impact project.

I’ve been a part of Green Impact over 2 academic years, starting from being a student volunteer (Green Impact Project Assistant) to taking a more leadership role and assisting the running of the project in DMU as the Green Impact Frontrunner.

Some of the guys from the Estate department play football on Wednesday nights which I joined; we got so good we decided to take things on an international level, so we planned a weekend trip to Germany, and I can boldly say it was one of the best experiences of my life. We watched a Bundesliga match and we played our own international friendly, unfortunately we lost but it was a very close game.

On a more serious note a lot of things were achieved throughout the year; external audits, new teams joining, Planting project, student switch off party, group workshops and many more. The biggest success for me was the award ceremony as we celebrated everything that was achieved by individuals and teams, and recognised them for their hard work throughout the year in the Green Impact project.

I’ve been opportune to work with and develop friendships with students from different departments of the university I wouldn’t have met if not for Green Impact. I’ve also been privileged to work with and learn a lot from the universities environment & sustainability team, I couldn’t have asked for a better team to be a part of.

 

Joseph Ogunremi (Green Impact Frontrunner 2014-2015)

 

Leave a Reply

