All things sustainability at this years’ NUS Student Sustainability Summit

NUSAs part of my Frontrunner internship at DMU’s Estates and Development Team I had the pleasure of attending NUS’ annual Student Sustainability Summit last week. The conference is aimed at equipping students with ideas to help promote sustainability at their university and ensure it remains at the top of the agenda. As long as you’re a student – you’re invited so keep a look out for next years!

It was great to be surrounded by so many likeminded people and I really enjoyed the range of workshops on offer, especially the fact that I could choose which ones interested me the most.

My day began with an insight on how to run an effective campaign where I learned about campaign successes at other universities and ended with a call from Electronics Watch for action from universities to ensure any electronics purchased are not made in poor working environments.

All of the workshops inspired me to think about what I can do to improve sustainability at DMU but the most engaging of them all was the midday workshop on Climate Change, the Refugee Crisis and Ice Cream. I had no idea that the on-going Refugee Crisis could be linked to Climate Change and of the great work Ben and Jerry’s is doing to bring the issue to the attention of governments. Who would have thought that every purchase of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream contributes towards the fulfilment of their social activist work?!

Overall I came away with some new friends, a stomach full of delicious vegan lunch and a free Ben and Jerry’s ice cream but more importantly with lots of ideas on how we at DMU can continue the great work we’re doing in sustainability!

Thank you NUS for a great day!

Leave a Reply

